Skip to content
✓CarWorthIt

Tennessee Car Sales Tax Calculator

Tennessee charges 7% sales and use tax (7% state rate plus state single article tax and local option tax) on a used car purchase, verified September 15, 2026. Local taxes add 2% to 2.75% on the first $1,600 depending on where you register the car. A trade-in is deducted before tax. Private-party sales are taxed too, paid when you title the car.

Figures verified September 15, 2026; sources linked per row. Re-checked quarterly, next due December 15, 2026.

On a $20,000 used car, Tennessee's tax, doc fee, title and registration come to $2,145 (up to $2,157 at the highest local rate): number 47 of 50 states, cheapest first. Every state compared

$1,750
State tax (7%)
$32 to $44
Local tax (2% to 2.75% on first $1,600)
$0
Trade-in credit applied
$1,782 to $1,794
Total sales tax

A state single article tax of 2.75% also applies to the portion of the price from $1,600 to $3,200 (at most $44), which the calculator does not add.

Taxable amount: $25,000. Tax only; dealer doc fees, title and registration are separate, and some states tax the doc fee as part of the price. The local figure is an estimate from the state's published range unless you entered your own rate.

The Tennessee numbers, with sources

Each figure below was checked on September 15, 2026 against the page linked in the source column, and the wording the state uses is quoted so you can confirm it yourself.

Tennessee vehicle taxes and fees with sources
ItemTennesseeSource
State rate (Sales and use tax (7% state rate plus state single article tax and local option tax))7%tn.gov(state source)As published: “The state single article tax rate of 2.75% is applied to the amount of the sales price of a single article of tangible personal property between $1,600 and $3,200.”
Local tax range2% to 2.75% on the first $1,600tn.gov(state source)As published: “The state single article tax rate of 2.75% is applied to the amount of the sales price of a single article of tangible personal property between $1,600 and $3,200.”
Trade-in creditYes, full creditknoxcounty.org(secondary, cites the statute)As published: “State Sales Tax is 7% of purchase price less total value of trade in.”
Dealer doc feeNo cap (typically $670)caredge.com(secondary, cites the statute)As published: “Tennessee: $670. This report is based on 93,200 verified out-the-door (OTD) price quotes collected between July 2025 and September 2026.”
Title fee$14knoxcounty.org(secondary, cites the statute)As published: “Title Fee $14.00 + Licenses plate fee $29 (standard issue plate) = $79.00”
Registration (flat fee)$29knoxcounty.org(secondary, cites the statute)As published: “Title Fee $14.00 + Licenses plate fee $29 (standard issue plate) = $79.00”
Private-party sale taxedYes, paid when you title the cartn.gov(state source)As published: “automobile and boat sales in Tennessee are subject to sales or use tax”

Next steps

Tax is fixed. The price is not.

Buying a specific car in Tennessee? Run its VIN free for the specification and open recalls. From $2.99, see what it is worth at its mileage against cars for sale near your ZIP code. The $9.99 Negotiation Bundle adds an opening offer, a walk-away figure and the drive-away cost with Tennessee tax and fees.

Free report instantly. The VIN is on the dashboard, door jamb, or title.

Tennessee car tax questions

Does Tennessee charge sales tax on a private-party car sale?

Yes. Paid at the county clerk's office when the buyer applies for title and registration.

Does Tennessee give a trade-in credit on car sales tax?

Yes. The value of your trade-in is deducted from the price before Tennessee tax is calculated.

What is the dealer doc fee cap in Tennessee?

Tennessee sets no legal cap on dealer doc fees. Dealers typically charge $670. Tenn. Code Ann. 55-17-114(b)(1)(E) authorizes a document preparation, processing or servicing fee if separately stated and clearly and conspicuously disclosed on the sales contract; no maximum is set. CarEdge's report of 93,200 verified quotes (July 2025 to September 2026) puts the average doc fee in Tennessee at $670. If the dealer will not drop the fee, ask for the same amount off the price.

Do local sales taxes apply to car purchases in Tennessee?

Yes. The local option tax runs from 2.00% (Hancock, Johnson, Loudon, Meigs, Morgan and Smith counties) to 2.75% (Davidson County: 2.25% plus a 0.5% transit surcharge) and applies only to the first $1,600 of the vehicle price, so it comes to $32 to $44 on a car. A state single article tax of 2.75% then applies to the portion of the price from $1,600 to $3,200. Which county's rate applies (buyer's residence or dealer) was not stated on the state pages fetched.

How much does a car title cost in Tennessee?

$14 (flat). County clerk page; the tn.gov title and registration pages fetched did not state the title fee amount. The $79 total in the quote includes the Knox County $36 wheel tax.

How much is annual car registration in Tennessee?

$29 a year for a passenger car, flat fee. Standard passenger plate $29 per Knox County Clerk and Nashville/Davidson County Clerk ('Registration' $29.00). TN DOR Notice #22-12 (June 2022) states the state portion for Class B passenger vehicles is ordinarily $23.75, with other earmarked safety and system fees and county fees on top. County wheel taxes are added (Knox $36, Nashville $55).

Checking a specific car?